top of page

El Puerto Rico - Digital Music Series


Stream the Podcast here: or You can also find it on apple music! (Narrated and Conducted by Music Director, Tianhui Ng)

Presented by MIFA Victory Theatre, New England Public Media (NEPM), and GBH Music - "El Puerto Rico” a series of 10 original works by contemporary composers performed by the MIFA Victory Players, Music Director, Tianhui Ng and interviews by GBH's Brian McCreath with composers.

The 10 pieces of modern classical Puerto Rican music were filmed and recorded in June 2021 at GBH Fraser Performance Studio, Boston. They were commissioned by MIFA Victory Theatre and developed in residency in Holyoke, MA 2018- 2021.

Composers and Works:

Armando Bayolo "Nadie puede dar lo que no tiene"

Gabriel Bouche “i. Washy from Ni Fú, Ni Fa, Los cuentos de siempre ("Same old stories")”

Johanny Navarro "Belén: Un canto sagrado a mis ancestros" (A sacred chant to my ancestors)

José J. Peña-Aguayo "Prints of Lost Breath"

Christian Quiñones "What My Mother Wrote"

Iván Enrique Rodríguez "Transmutación Inerte" (Inert Transmutation)

Tony Solitro "Canción Exaltada"

Omar Surillo "Pitorro" and “Isla Verde"

Liliya Ugay "Island of Enchantment"

Victory Players

Giovanni Pérez, Flute

Eric Schultz, Clarinet

Elly Toyoda, Violin

Clare Monfredo, Cello

Nathan Ben-Yehuda, Piano

Robert Rocheteau, Percussion

Music Director, Tianhui Ng

Special guest appearance by Bomba de Aquí in

"Prints of Lost Breath"

Brendaliz Cepeda, dancer

Saúl Peñaloza, Bomba drummer

Julian Gerstin, Bomba drummer

José J. Peña-Aguayo, composer who will also play Bomba drums


bottom of page